Hartlepool Marina 5 Road Race, 7th April 2013

On Sunday 7th April the wind dropped and the sun shone, a perfect day for running the Marina 5 Mile Road Race.  


 After months of planning, the committee were out in force at 7:30am, setting up the course and ensuring all of the last minute preparations were in place.  Marshals, timekeepers and recorders arrived at 9:30am and we were overwhelmed by the response not only from our club members, families and friends, but also from Hartlepool College of Further Education who provided twelve marshals and Hartlepool Police who provided seven police officers and PCSOs.  This meant that by 10am, with everyone fully briefed and in place, we were raring to go!


The race started at Jackson’s Landing as usual.  Runners were pleased to see that this year the course had changed back to an old route which meant that running twice round Jackson’s Landing was not required (yeaay!) and instead we set off straight out across the Historic Quay and made our way down Maritime Avenue to the promenade.  A left turn was then made to the end of the pier before turning round and running the length of the promenade to high-five Stuart Whitaker before turning back and making our way along the promenade, back up Maritime Avenue and through the gates to the Wingfield Castle.  The course measured exactly 5 miles and the race was won by Paul Marchant (Unattached) in 25:53.


 Mick Lamb was the first of 41 harriers home – a fantastic 12th place of 348 finishers – in 28:25.  Mick picked up the 2nd Male Vet45 prize for his efforts (as well as much kudos amongst his fellow harriers).  David Lake and Darren Armstrong were next to cross the line for the club’s other two sub-30 minute runs.  Dave in 29:32 (19th) and Darren in 29:45 (20th).  Gareth Foreman completed Burn Road’s Third Placed Men’s Team, bursting through the finish line in 30:21 (26th).   


 Ben Ward and John Davis were through next, Ben in 30:32 (28th) and John in 30:33 (29th), quickly followed by Jason Ellis in 30:50 (34th).  Spectators were treated to a great view of Hartlepool Burn Road Harriers top men coming in in quick succession, all confirming what a great team of athletes we have.  New member Alex Marshall continued this stream of yellow and green, crossing the line in 31:05 (42nd), with John Mansfield next in 31:24 (43rd), knocking a minute and 15 seconds off last years’ time. 


 Not long later a lesser-spotted Andy Kelly came home in 32:15 (64th), followed by Andrew Lilley in 32:17 (65th).  Clearly recovered from his half marathon, Simon Bennett was next in 33:09 (78th), with Dave Wallace in 33:56 (89th) and Andy Lamplough in his first race back in 34:03 (92nd).


 Then came the girls….. Sarah Black and Jane Wistow ran the course together (some chatting going on, we’ll admit; fairly unavoidable!) and crossed the finish in 34:07 (96th & 97th).   Aiming for a sub 34 minute run, Jane may have messed this up a little by running round the cone in front of the turning point and realising her error stepping back and going to the end where Stuart was positioned before turning to proceed back to the finish.  Both were pleased to be able to have each other’s support around the course and were part of the winning female team.  Along with Lesley Strickland they picked up the prize for the fastest three women to cross the finish line from one club.


 Darren Smith ran the course in 34:25 (104th) and was followed in by Graham Stevens in 34:45 (107th).  Next came Neil Simon, back to form after injury, in 34:47 (110th).  Nigel Shaw did not manage to stay under the 35 minute barrier this year, just tipping over to 35:14 (125th).  The next harrier to cross the line was Richard Robson in 35:39 (131st), with Lesley Strickland a minute later to secure the women’s first team place in 36:36 (144th).


Claire Salvin was the first female home for burn road’s second women’s team in 36:48 (147th), with Jo Beddow and Alice Simpson crossing the line in 37:55 and 37:59 (164th & 164th) the second team secured fourth place of the women’s teams overall – with all six members in the top 29 females on the day.


Chris Sharp knocked almost two minutes off last year’s race time, completing the course in 38:06 (168th).  He was followed in by Graeme Surtees in 38:08 (169th).  Helen Wilson was next female home for the club in 38:14 (172nd), with new member Richie Martin crossing the finish in 38:42 (177th). 


Simon Lawlor was pleased with his sub-40 minute run of 39:43 (191st), with Neal Gillson also producing a good run in 39:48 (194th).   Lisa Dawkins crossed the finish line at the gates of the Wingfield Castle in 41:00 (209th), Malcolm Pugh was next in 41:24 (214th).  Stephen Armstrong had another consistent run to place 231st in 42:47, closely followed by Cary Surtees, a minutes faster than last year, in 42:50 (233rd).  Amy Dixon was next in 44:24 (251st) followed by Gail Gould who had perhaps her best race to date.  The final results showed Gail coming in 261st in 45:26 but perhaps there was some confusion in the finishing funnel as Gail’s watch said 44:58 for the five mile course.  Pauline Ranson crossed the finish line in 45:46 (267th) with newcomer Tracey Long in her first race for the club producing a great time of 46:24 (278th). 


Jemma Gillson was next home in 48:44 (299th), followed by Linda Whitaker completing the Burn Road squad in 51:34 (315th).  The final competitor to cross the line did so in 1:12:44, supported by our very own race sweepers, Nichola & Greg Swinbourne, who did a great job of ensuring the safety of the end runners right through the course. 


Link to Official Results


Link to photos courtesy of Alan Musgrove


There are a few of the technical t-shirts from the race left to buy at cost price of £5 each.  Please contact jane,This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. if you would like one.


Race Fixtures

Click here to go
straight to the
Race Fixtures page.


Race Results

2018 Stuart Pailor Memorial (Old Monks) Multi Terrain Race

Results | Report

2017 Stuart Pailor Memorial (Old Monks) Multi Terrain Race
2017 Marina 5 Road Race
2016 Marina 5 Road Race

Results | Report

2014 Old Monks Multi Terrain Race

Results | Report

2013 Old Monks Multi Terrain Race
Results | Report

2013 Marina 5 Road Race
Results | Photos | Report

January 2012 Old Monks Multi Terrain Race
Results | Report

July 2011 Old Monks Multi Terrain Race
Results | Report