Hartlepool Marina 5 Road Race, 3rd April 2016

In 2007, the Marina 5 Road Race was in its third year and Stuart Pailor said “[We] hope that we can continue to develop the race in both the number of people taking part but also the quality of the field”.


Since then, the race record of 23:22 has been set (2009) by GB athlete Ricky Stevenson who won the event four years in a row from 2008-2011.  Paralympian athlete Wondiye Fikre Indelbu won the event in 2014 in 24:45.  In 2005 257 runners crossed the finish line.  In 2016 533 runners finished and New Marske Harrier Dom Shaw equalled Ricky’s second best ever time over the course with a 24:24 run.   The women’s overall race record of 28:45 set by Bernadette Caygill in 2008 remains unbeaten, with International Great Britain Ultra Runner Joasia Zawrzewski from Durham City Harriers coming close in 2016 with a 28:54 run to set a new course record.  


On Sunday 3rd April Hartlepool Burn Road Harriers hosted the 12th annual Marina 5 Mile Road Race.


The new (2015) route starts and finishes at the top of Maritime Avenue, opposite The Wingfield Castle Ship and takes runners down to the promenade and all the way along to the end of the extended section of the promenade and back.  As stated above, the race was won by Dom Shaw of New Marske Harriers in 24:24, with Joasia Zawrzewski from Durham City Harriers winning the ladies race in 28:54.  


Hartlepool Burn Road Harriers were well represented at the race, with 29 members racing and the same amount again volunteering their time to marshal the course and host the event.  Darren Armstrong set himself a new personal best time over the five mile distance, finishing in 15th place overall in a time of 28:02.  Simon Bennett was level with Darren for much of the race, losing out on the battle to the finish line but securing himself a new best time of 28:08.


Richie Hodgson was the third Harrier to cross the line, knocking a minute and 20 seconds off his time from last year, Richard crossed the line in 29:23 and won the 2nd Male Vet 50 prize.


Bryan Astill had a cracking run, although he was a minute outside his best time over the 5 mile distance, he ran in in 29:40 before running off to complete a further 15 miles as part of his long training run for the week.  He was back from that in plenty of time to meet his fellow Harriers in the pub afterwards for a celebratory drink.

Gareth Foreman had not raced the Marina 5 since 2013 when he ran it in 30:21.  Keen to dip under the 30 minute barrier, he gave the race his all and was duly rewarded with a time of 29:56.  A great result for Gareth.


Graham Jones had not raced this event before, but hit the finishing line smiling with a time of 31:00.  Burn Road Harrier’s super veteran racer Karl Edwards took the 1st Vet 60 prize with ease, cruising to the line in 31:19 and placing 70th overall of 533 runners.  Ian Bilton was next in 31:41, over 30 seconds faster than 2015.

Leigh Owbridge’s maiden run around the course resulted in a fantastic time of 32:29, indicating Leigh is getting back to form after a period of injury.  Alan Bell had a great race to finish in 33:25.  Richard Hambly raced around the five miles in 33:49, with Bill Hornby next, knocking a minute and a half off his time from last year, finishing jubilant in 34:25.


Steve Scanlon was next, knocking a whopping three minutes off his time from last year to cross the line in 34:38.  Cheryl Laycock’s road racing fitness is improving week on week and she excelled over the course to finish in 34:41 and win the 2nd Vet 35 prize. 


Mick Ludgate shows no signs of slowing up and secured another 1st Vet 65 prize with an epic five mile run in 34:45.   Darren Smith was next, over a minute slower than 2015, but happy given his training has not been as consistent, he crossed the line in 35:29.  Mick missed the presentation ceremony to go and let his partner Josie out of the garage as he had accidentally locked her in before setting off to Hartlepool.   Three hours of treadmill later, Josie could now be poised to beat Mick at his own (racing) game!  I’m sure lots of our partners would have some great tales to tell about our racing antics!!


Greg Swinbourne raced the Marina 5 back in 2014 and finished in 43:10.  Greg has improved tremendously over the last twelve months and has been breaking his personal bests over every distance.  He did the same on home ground, setting a new best five mile time of 35:42.


Sharon Stephenson took an Easter break from training to enjoy the sun abroad, returning at 3am on the morning of the race.  After just a few hours sleep she went to the marina to support the event and crossed the line in 36:54, almost two and a half minutes outside her best time over the course, but a great run in the circumstances.   Sixteen year old Matthew Windram had a great run to complete in 37:03. 


Peter Johnson was the next Burn Road Harrier to race up Maritime Avenue and cross the finish line in 37:13, with Ryan Parker next in 37:23.   Simon Lawlor knocked almost two minutes off his previous best time, crossing the line in 37:26.  Phillip Thompson was next in 38:54, with Laura Jones in 38:37.


Carl Marchant has not trained with the club for some time due to persistent injury, but came down to support the event and ran a good time of 39:31.  Angela Lawlor was next in 41:58, which was 30 seconds faster than the last time she raced the course in 2014.  


Pauline Ranson had a great run, finishing in 45:06.  Christopher McGrath knocked a minute off his 2015 time to cross the line with a new PB of 47:25, with Steven Armstrong completing the Burn Road contingency in a time of 50:33.


The Marina 5 Mile Road Race could not be staged without the sterling efforts of the committee in the run up to the event and the great support from volunteers on the day.  As such, huge thanks go out to Joanne Beddow, Sarah Black and Mick Lamb.  A brilliant atmosphere and safe event was provided with brilliant help on the day from Graeme Surtees, Claire Earle, Andrea Lamb, Lesley Strickland, George Newbury, Ian Cook, John Mansfield, David Kirk, David Lake, Andrew Minister, Nichola Swinbourne, Vanessa, Madeleine and Agatha Cox, Eve Dixon, Alex Lamb, John Davis, Paul Wilson, Jack Hutton, Gail Smith, Andrew Lilley, Gillian Waller, Jan Naisbitt, Roy Watkins, Athina Lester, Julie McGrath, Stuart Whitaker.  The £100 cash prizes for breaking the course record were kindly donated by Peart Fencing and the team prizes of bottles of champagne were donated by Walton Clark Whitehill Chartered Accountants and Business Advisers. 

Link to Race Results


Race Fixtures

Click here to go
straight to the
Race Fixtures page.


Race Results

2018 Stuart Pailor Memorial (Old Monks) Multi Terrain Race

Results | Report

2017 Stuart Pailor Memorial (Old Monks) Multi Terrain Race
2017 Marina 5 Road Race
2016 Marina 5 Road Race

Results | Report

2014 Old Monks Multi Terrain Race

Results | Report

2013 Old Monks Multi Terrain Race
Results | Report

2013 Marina 5 Road Race
Results | Photos | Report

January 2012 Old Monks Multi Terrain Race
Results | Report

July 2011 Old Monks Multi Terrain Race
Results | Report